SOUTH YORKSHIRE PENSIONS AUTHORITY

ANNUAL MEETING

<u>11 JUNE 2020</u>

PRESENT: Councillor M Stowe (Chair)

Councillor J Mounsey (Vice-Chair)

Councillors: A Atkin, S Cox, A Law, A Murphy, C Rosling-Josephs,

A Sangar, A Teal, P Wray, N Wright and T Yasseen

Trade Unions: D Patterson (UNITE) and G Warwick (GMB)

Investment Advisors: A Devitt and L Robb

Officers: J Bailey (Head of Pensions Administration), N Copley (Treasurer), G Graham (Fund Director), G Kirk (Monitoring Officer), M McCarthy (Deputy Clerk), G Richards (Senior Democratic Services Officer), S Smith (Head of Investments), G Taberner (Head of Finance

and Corporate Services) and C Tyler (Head of Governance)

Apologies for absence were received from N Doolan-Hamer (due to

technical issues)

1 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIR FOR THE ENSUING YEAR

RESOLVED: That Councillor Mick Stowe be appointed as Chair of the Authority for the ensuing year.

2 APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIR FOR THE ENSUING YEAR

RESOLVED: That Councillor John Mounsey be appointed Vice-Chair of the Authority for the ensuing year.

3 <u>MEMBERSHIP OF THE AUTHORITY</u>

A report was presented regarding the membership of the Authority.

The current membership of the Authority was:

Barnsley	Doncaster	Rotherham	Sheffield
Councillors	Councillors	Councillors	Councillors
M Stowe Neil Wright	S Cox J Mounsey P Wray	A Atkin T Yasseen	A Law A Murphy C Rosling- Josephs A Sangar A Teal

RESOLVED – That the membership of the Authority be noted.

4 QUESTIONS IN MEETINGS OF THE DISTRICT COUNCILS

A report was submitted to consider the appointment of representatives of the Authority to answer questions raised in meetings of the District Councils and to feedback District Council pensions issues at each meeting of the Pensions Authority.

The appointments and substitutes for 2020/21 were noted as follows:

Council	Spokesperson	Substitute
Barnsley MBC	Cllr M Stowe	Cllr N Wright
Doncaster MBC	Cllr J Mounsey	Cllr P Wray
Rotherham MBC	Cllr A Atkin	Cllr T Yasseen
Sheffield CC	Cllr A Law	Cllr A Sangar

It was noted that Cllr P Wray would resign his position as substitute Section 41 representative for Doncaster MBC when he was appointed the Civic Mayor for Doncaster and another member would be appointed.

RESOLVED – That the Section 41 appointments are agreed as detailed above.

5 APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES

A report was submitted to consider the appointment of the Authority's Committees and their Chairs for 2020/2021.

Membership was confirmed as follows:

Audit Committee	Staffing, Appointments & Appeals Committee
Cllr Alan Atkin	Cllr Alan Atkin
Cllr Steve Cox	Cllr Alan Law
Cllr Alan Law	Cllr John Mounsey
Cllr John Mounsey (Chair)	Cllr Andrew Sangar
Cllr Mick Stowe	Cllr Mick Stowe (Chair)

RESOLVED: That the membership of the Authority's Committees and their Chairs be agreed as detailed above.

CHAIR